Stage 7

Posted: March 4, 2011 in Uncategorized

Jenny decides to go 10 more miles while the sun is out

FINAL UPDATE STAGE 7: I spoke to Jenny this afternoon and she is very sore and tired, but determined to go on. She went 10 extra miles today due to the sun making an unexpected entrance.

Notes from her step dad:
Jenny ran 50.2 miles today in 13 hours and 35 minutes. She finished the day in Camponaraya. She passed two pilgrims on bikes. I found that you can do the pilgrimage by car, so I am thinking about getting stamps and blessing for myself.
A wonderful father and daughter helped us find Jenny tonight, I am sure that they thought we were loco, but the daughter spoke English, so she was able to give us directions.Β 
We took Ryleigh to a real castle and will return when it opens in the morning. I wonder if the dungeon is accepting five year olds (I might build one here – CA)?

Before I update you all on her progress, I want to personally thank each and every one of you that send an email or posted a comment on this blog. I put out the call yesterday asking for support because I knew that was what Jenny needed. She was truly amazed when I told her that her blog was getting between 250-400 hits a day.Β  It encouraged her greatly. I woke up this morning to see that Jenny’s step dad had forwarded over 50 emails to me that had been written to Jenny. I was amazed and a little emotional to read the heartfelt notes of love, encouragement, and prayer that were written to Jenny. I know she will read each and every one and be utterly amazed to have such loving friends and family.Β  Thank you and please keep up the prayers, positive thoughts, and emails to Jenny.

On to the update – Jenny told me yesterday that her mileage for the next 2 days would be lower than normal due to the mountains she is having to climb. She thought each day would end around 40 miles. Her first text came in at 6:26 AM EST and she had finished 26 miles. The next text came in at 8:44 AM EST and she was 10 miles outside of the town of Ponferrada (Google Map). I will add more details and pictures as I receive them.

Comments
  1. Kimberly Henry says:

    Jenny, you are amazing!!!!!

    • Lisa Antley says:

      “Jennymarvelous” is truly the right word for you! We’re thinking of you and praying for good weather, no pain, and inspiration to continue. Go Ms. Andersdon Go!

      Lisa Antley & Eric Antley VES ’13

  2. Allison says:

    Jenny, I am in tears reading about your progress. You have such determination and fortitude. You are truly an inspiration to us all. In the dark and in the light, in the cold cold and warmth, I hope you find comfort in our prayers and support for you.

  3. Go girl! I sent you an email to your step dad. Hope you get it.

    Hang in there. Awesome is an overused word that is not even close to describing what you are doing! In fact, I think we’ll have to invent a word…maybe jennomarvoliscious. Think so? πŸ™‚

    Hang in there girl. I am thinking of you every minute and report to my distance runners on your progress daily.

  4. Jenny,

    I am thinking about you, and wishing you a strong finish in your last few days on the trail. Maybe you could imagine BigR is there, riding along in his little blue car, blaring country music, and cheering you on! Surely that would help, if not provide a good laugh!

    Wishing you strength, health, and good fortune,
    Marcia

  5. Rick Gray says:

    Jenny, If I have calculated correctly, when you get to Ponferada, you will be around 361 miles. You continue to amaze me (and your fans worldwide). I think Rebekah’s word and/or description (jennomarvoliscious) of you is very fitting; although I don’t think I can pronounce the word. I guess my East Tennessee accent just gets in the way. It is just so much easier for me to say “Hootie Hoo”! I am so proud of you and continue to think of you. Continue hanging tough.

  6. Linda Zimmerman says:

    We know you can do it!!!!

  7. Alex Hodges says:

    Hang in there Jenny! You got this! πŸ™‚ Words of wisdom I just texted Ashley – Believe you can and your halfway there – Theodore Roosevelt. Keep the faith my friend!

  8. Amy says:

    Keep going Jenny! I sent a video clip of mrs wall’s class (Jill Robert’s idea) to your dad…kids all miss Ryleigh and wish you good luck!!

  9. Jocelyne says:

    Keep going Jenny. Wwe love you all 7 of us from Gwada

  10. Judy Tevault says:

    I’m in awe of what you are doing. Keep going, I believe you Will finish the journey. You give us all courage. Your Mom Anderson and I keep you in our thoughts and prayers. May God be with you and bless you.

  11. Sarah Weber says:

    I love that the sun inspired and extra 10 miles! If that’s all it takes, I send some of this Colorado sunshine your way! I’m so proud of you! Keep at it! You’re doing great!

    ps: I bought new sneakers in your honor yesterday πŸ™‚

  12. Brett says:

    GO JENNY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I have nothing new or meaningful to say as far as encouragement goes, mainly because you have already surpassed the limits of awesome-imity in my book. Anyways, I love you much and will be praying… and I can’t wait to tell you all about my new devious plans πŸ™‚

  13. Jason and Larissa says:

    Congrats on the wonderful progress! We’re thinking of you and wishing you great success.

Leave a Reply

