Training

Posted: January 24, 2011 in Uncategorized

Five weeks from today, I will begin the trail. 

I have not reported on my training recently so I thought I would take a moment to let you know what I have been up to.  Basically, I have been running 85-120 mile weeks consistently since Thanksgiving – even through strep throat.  I haven’t run a step without my 5-7 lb backpack and my pace varies between 8:30 and 10 minutes.  I don’t need to be going any faster than that especially with the added pack weight.  I have been trying to do 4-5 days of back to back 20+ milers and then I do short recovery runs the other 2-3 days of the week.  My back hammy is getting a bit grumpy so I am going to back off a bit this (and possibly next) week.

I have been training with my new SPOT Delorme and I love it!  I am able to send text messages via satellite and it attaches my GPS coordinates…pretty nifty and easy to use.    

As the training continues to go well, I am also very pleased to report that I am more than 1/3 the way to my fundraising goal.  I have raised almost $800 so far for the International Rescue Committee.  This will feed 160 refugee children for an entire month!  Thank you to all those that have given to this very worthwhile cause.

Comments
  1. Rick Gray says:

    Your weekly mileage makes me remember back to my college days when I was putting in that kind of mileage. Truly dedication on your part not only for the adventure but for the cause you have placed before you. My thoughts continue to be with you and your family. I know this has been tough on the family as Mom is not around as much as usual, but they know of your love.

Leave a Reply

