My G.P.S.

Posted: January 5, 2011 in Uncategorized

It takes as much energy to wish as it does to plan. –  Eleanor Roosevelt

My G.P.S.:  I saw a recent post on Facebook that mentioned the fact that one should not leave the house without their GPS (goals, plan, and strategy)…something to live by.

Goals:  With regard to my upcoming journey, I certainly have a goal.  My goal is to finish the Camino de Santiago in record time (less than twelve days).   Normally, I have levels of goals.  My ultimate goal is to finish the trail in less than 10 days.  At the very least, I would like to finish the trail in under twelve days which would still be a record. 

Plans and Preparation:  Picasso once said “Our goals can only be reached through a vehicle of a plan, in which we must fervently believe, and upon which we must vigorously act. There is no other route to success.”  For this it is important to have backup plans.  The failure of one plan should not be an excuse for why a goal was not achieved.  Plan A:  Run the Camino de Santiago self supported.  It is necessary to be realistic and think of all the “what ifs.”  In current economic state, it is quite possible that most of the restaurants, stores, and lodgings have closed during the off season.   I must have a backup plan in the event that I am not able to be fed and sheltered properly.  Plan B:  Run the Camino de Santiago with a crew.  I will have family in country in the event that I need to move this venture to a supported endeavor.  I will only turn to Plan B out of necessity.  Plan C:  What if I get the stomach flu in the middle of the journey?  What if I get hit with a gigantic snow storm?  There are going to be situations that I cannot predict nor change and they can affect the success of my journey.  My tertiary plan is to simply go the distance and to complete the trail before returning home even if I don’t finish in record time.

Strategy:  1) Be smart (hydrate, sleep, be patient with my pace, dress in layers, etc.), 2) Train hard and trust my training (but don’t get injured), 3) Be strong and stay positive.  Negative thoughts are not permitted on my trail.  Suffering is inevitable but having a strong faith and enormous conviction will pull me through every stage, 4) Remember my purpose (I run for something greater than myself), 5) Dig Deep to learn something new, and 6) Be grateful for this opportunity.

We should all have goals and a plan to reach our goals.  If we prepare properly we can achieve the seemingly impossible.  Nothing is unattainable.  Henry David Thoreau said “All endeavor calls for the ability to tramp the last mile, shape the last plan, endure the last hours toil. The fight to the finish spirit is the one characteristic we must possess if we are to face the future as finishers.”  I will finish this trail.

Comments
  1. Rick Gray says:

    Such a warm and inviting WINTER picture of the family!

    As I read your post, I could not help but to be proud of being your friend. Your passion and go-get-em attitude is going to keep you going and will keep those negative thoughts out of your mind. I call those negative thoughts “stinky thinkn”. Your opening comment concerning GPS is certainly true. You have stated your goals, made the necessary plans and are working on the strategy to accomplish your goals. As you have said, things will change based upon changing conditions and situations, but your ultimate goal to finish this thing will certainly be accomplished. Your faith will see you through. Have a wonderful day Jenny!

  2. Great words to live by. So glad we got to share some trail time on Saturday. Lord willing, you will succeed!

  3. Jenny – This will be an amazing adventure. I can’t wait to follow along!. . . Enjoy and stay focused on the task.

  4. jenny says:

    Rick and Rebekah – You both are incredible mentors to me. Thank you for all your kind encouraging and wise words. Without friends like you, I am nothing. You’re the best!

  5. Sabrina Moran says:

    I love this post! So glad I found your blog. I admire your faith and will be praying for you on your big run. Great stuff! 🙂

Leave a Reply

