“Adopt the pace of nature; her secret is patience.” – Emerson

Posted: December 8, 2010 in Uncategorized

Preparing for a run can sometimes be even more fun than the run itself.  The anticipation, the packing, the daydreaming and training can be like a anxious child waiting for Christmas morning. Recently, I have met with the good people of Blue Ridge Mountain Sports to get a list of gear I will need for my adventure.  One employer in particular, Charles (an Afghan vet) was extremely helpful in gathering all my supplies.  Icebreaker and SmartWool will be my choice for base layers, arm warmers, mittens and socks.  Osprey is my choice for a day/running pack (and it’s my favorite color yellow!)   I’ll be in Spain during one of the wettest and coldest times of year and so rain/snow gear is a must.  Arc’Teryx makes great pac-lite rain gear.  My Patagoinia Houdini jacket will be my constant along with the fabulous Pearl Izumi Fuel XC trail shoes.  I will wear the same shoes the entire way as I am doing this run self-supported.  I have decided to not stash a pair along the way.  Lynchburg’s Riverside Runners has been extremely supportive in so many ways.  They are incredibly helpful, knowledgeable, and I am grateful to be affiliated with them. 

When I train for races, I try to be very in tune with what my body is telling me.  I train hard (or as hard as my schedule will allow) and I don’t let up until the week of the race or my body says “whoa – that’s enough girl.”  I know that my preparation for this must be different.  I can’t afford to wait for my body to tell me “enough is enough.”  I need to be more preventative than that.  Therefore, I’m trying to listen to the little voices in my head and the very smart and experienced people around me.  Reading about my friend Annette Bednosky’s recent injury before her World competition is a wake-up call to me.  Additionally, my good friend David Horton seems to always show up at exactly the right moments and this week was no exception.  His one and only piece of advice this week was “it is better to show up to the trailhead less trained and uninjured than well trained and injured.”  Being a bit obsessive and addicted to my training makes it difficult for me to be rational, cautious and reserved.  I can’t afford to be stupid.  I have to hold back some and be smart about my training and increasing my miles.  Having someone remind me of this extremely important fact is critical to my mental and physical preparation going into this challenge.   Beyond anything else, I must be healthy. 

Thus far, my training has gone very well as I am training 90-100 mile weeks consecutively.  Nevertheless, I need to be smart and so I have decided to dial it back a bit in case my body requires a little more time to adjust to the mileage and the pack weight.   I will try to use this week to focus on logistics, pack preparation, and mapping.  As far as training this week, I will continue with 15-20 hours of training.  I plan to cut back on the running (possibly back down to 60-65 miles) and do more cycling (about 70 miles) and 3 hours of core and back strengthening exercises.   Hopefully this will prevent me from overworking the same muscle groups this early and this fast.  I hope this change of pace will make a difference.  A good friend of mine once said “you never know if you are one workout away from injury.”  It is a fine line we walk between training hard and over training.  Finding that balance (like all things in life) is a constant struggle.  Holding back and being more patient with my training will pay off in the end.  This is a difficult thing for me to do right now especially since I am not really injured.    To all my good “trail peeps” out there:  I am so grateful for the knowledge, wisdom and experience you give to me.  You are such a blessing in my life.

“Life is all about timing…the unreachable becomes reachable, the unavailable becomes available, the unattainable … attainable.  Have the patience, wait it out.  It’s all about timing.”  Stacey Charter

Comments
  1. Kimberly Henry says:

    I can’t wait to continue reading your blog, Jenny! You are an inspiration!

  2. Actually, I am really glad to read this. I was concerned with the number of miles and the duration of time you were going to be running them. I think you are very wise to make adjustments to your training program.

    Love you, Bohi.

    Once a Bohi, always a Bohi!

  3. Rick Gray says:

    I like Rebekah am so happy to be hearing that you are dialing things back just a bit. You have the mental where withall to complete this journey that you have set. You have the physical ability to also complete this journey, but your mental framework and your physical framework have to go side by side. Hold back just a wee little bit on your mind so that you know your body has caught up. Back in my faster days I always knew I was right on that fine line. Train too hard and I would get injured or sick. Not train enough or do the right workouts and I could not compete at the desired level. But those races were mainly on the track or road races of a marathon or less. You are getting ready for something so different and you have to approach your training differently. Horton is so correct in what he is telling you and I know you have taken it to heart.

  4. Good words to read—you are being very smart about backing off and cross-training more, at least this far out of your run. You don’t want to be mentally toasted when you start—just itching to get out there!

  5. Jenny Biondi Anderson says:

    I am so grateful to all of you for the words of affirmation, support, and advice. Your wisdom is priceless. In the end, when I meet my goal, I will have your words with me. You have no idea how encouraging you are. Thank you!

  6. Rick Gray says:

    And you will meet that goal!!! My prayers will continue to be with you.

  7. Helen says:

    Smart lady! You’ll be in great shape for this and so much happier to not be mentally over-tired. Great to see you Saturday – thanks for being there!

Leave a Reply

